unheard

assumptions presupposed

thought i was, thought it was

i only thought and did not know

words seek to comfort yet voices

from the distant past

in a darkened room leave me

shaking and cold and lost

forsaken in my stupidity

why am i still standing here

lay down the pen or the sword

to simply walk away

none made none broken a promise

undefined by time yet even as i think

time slides back to the point when

i walked away and now i don’t know

i just can’t remember

so i’ll stay and remind myself

that she was never really me

and that the rooms are filled

with voices simply by me unheard

One thought on “unheard

  1. in my mind this ties i nicely with the post i just did on ones authentic self.. lately it has come to my attention that i have been fantasizing again and making myself promises based on those fantasies.. the voice of reality has gone unheard.. but i am making it my mission to listen a little more closely now…

Leave a Reply

