Happy Mothers Day

sadness_of_Cambodia_by_smile_d.jpg
sadness_of_Cambodia_by_smile_d.jpg

the songs we used to listen to
make the top ten on xm kids
the days pass faster and faster
but still not as fast as they grow
our cool cars, replaced by mini vans
our favorite songs don’t sound as good
after hearing the kidz bop version
a hundred or so times
and our day, mothers day
will bring badly cooked eggs
and clumsily wrapped presents
and we will love it all
cause no matter how bad
our parents fucked us up
we have the rest of our lives
to have a happy childhood
but theirs is now
their happy childhood
is right now
and we have got to get it right

6 thoughts on “Happy Mothers Day

  1. Rachel.. It still amazes me, how the simplest things, the day to day growing of a child, can simply stop you in your tracks. I so wanna get this right! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cat, thank you so much….Unbound? yes, I think you nailed it, and that’s probably what I should have called it, Cocoon. I can see her, see where she is going now, i’m just waiting on the words.

    thank you both for your continued support. It’s priceless!

    jorc

  2. My mom passed on 6 years ago . Thanks for bringing her to mind today. Sometimes I need to miss her…To better remember the good times in my life and how much she loved me
    Thanks again.

  3. Jorc – This is my first visit here, and I find this powerful poem! I have someone I wish would read this or feel this way. I see her NOT taking the time to get it right, and it breaks my heart.

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! I’m waiting on my grandchildren to arrive! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Puna, I’m glad the poem brought you something sweet. I hope Mothers day was a good day of remembering for you. Hugs…

    Karen, Thank you for visiting. I love your work, and have added you to my links (actually, I thought you were already there, a gross oversite on my part) Hope your Mother’s Day was the best, mine was awesome!

    jorc

Leave a Reply

